Previous Next

Aboriginal History Volume 33

Aboriginal History

Volume 33, 2009





Published by ANU E Press and Aboriginal History Incorporated

Aboriginal History 33

This title is also available online at:

Aboriginal History Incorporated Aboriginal History is administered by an Editorial Board which is responsible for all unsigned material. Views and opinions expressed by the author are not necessarily shared by Board members.

The Committee of Management and the Editorial Board Kaye Price (Chair), Peter Read (Editor), Robert Paton (Treasurer and Public Officer), Anne McGrath (Deputy Chair), Karen Smith (Secretary), Isabel McBryde, Niel Gunson, Luise Hercus, Harold Koch, Christine Hansen, Tikka Wilson, Geoff Gray, Jay Arthur, Shino Konishi, Dave Johnson, Ingereth Macfarlane, Brian Egloff, Lorena Kanellopoulos, Serene Fernando, Richard Baker, Peter Radoll, Samantha Faulkner, Sophie Collins.

Managing Editor Peter Read, Editors Geoff Hunt and Tikka Wilson, Book Review Editor Luise Hercus.

This volume of the journal is formally dated 2009, but is published in 2010.

WARNING: Readers are notified that this publication may contain names or images of deceased persons.

Contacting Aboriginal History All correspondence should be addressed to Aboriginal History, Box 2837 GPO Canberra, 2601, Australia. Sales and orders for journals and monographs, and journal subscriptions: Thelma Sims, email:, tel or fax: +61 2 6125 3269,

Aboriginal History Inc. is a part of the Australian Centre for Indigenous History, Research School of Social Sciences, The Australian National University and gratefully acknowledges the support of the History Program, RSSS, The Australian National University.

ANU E Press : All correspondence should be addressed to: ANU E Press, The Australian National University, Canberra ACT 0200, AustraliaEmail:,

Cover design by Dick Barwick

Cover image: Bennelong. A twentieth-century depiction, from the National Aboriginal Day Magazine , 1981, artist unidentified. Reproduced with permission from the Department of Education and Training, Western Australia.

Apart for any fair dealing for the purpose of private study, research, criticism or review, as permitted under the Copyright Act, no part of this publication may be reproduced by any process whatsoever without the written permission of the publisher.

This edition © 2010 ANU E Press and Aboriginal History Inc.

ISSN 0314-8769 (print)ISSN 1837-9389 (electronic edition) Erratum Vol 32 of Aboriginal History (2008) inadvertently credited Ann McGrath as the author of the review ‘Papunya Art’ (pp. 213–17). In fact Diana James was the author of this review. We apologise for the error.

Previous Next