Previous Next

Aboriginal History Journal: Volume 42


Jonathan Bollen is Senior Lecturer in Theatre and Performance Studies at the University of New South Wales. His research interests include the repertoire of Australian plays in theatre production and the history of entertainers touring the region in the 1950s and 1960s. He is the co-author of Men at Play: Masculinities in Australian Theatre since the 1950s (2008) and A Global Doll’s House: Ibsen and Distant Visions (2016). He also has experience in the digital humanities, developing collaborative methodologies for theatre research and analytical techniques for visualising artistic networks.

Anne Brewster is Associate Professor at the University of New South Wales. Her books include Giving This Country a Memory: Contemporary Aboriginal Voices of Australia (2015), Literary Formations: Post-colonialism, Nationalism, Globalism (1996) and Reading Aboriginal Women’s Autobiography (1995). She co-edited, with Angeline O’Neill and Rosemary van den Berg, an anthology of Australian Indigenous writing, Those Who Remain Will Always Remember (2000). Her research has been supported by the Australian Research Council DP140100553.

Robert Foster is Associate Professor in the History Department at the University of Adelaide. His most recent publications include the co-authored books, Fragile Settlement: Aboriginal Peoples, Law, and Resistance in South-West Australia and Prairie Canada (2016), Out of the Silence: The History and Memory of South Australia’s Frontier Wars (2012) and A History of South Australia (2018).

Billy Griffiths is a historian and Research Fellow at the Alfred Deakin Institute for Citizenship and Globalisation, Deakin University, and an Associate Investigator with the ARC Centre of Excellence for Australian Biodiversity and Heritage (CABAH). His latest book is Deep Time Dreaming: Uncovering Ancient Australia (2018).

Miranda Johnson is a senior lecturer in history at the University of Sydney. Her work examines indigenous and settler histories in comparative contexts, with a core focus on the Pacific. Her first book, The Land Is Our History: Indigeneity, Law, and the Settler State (2016), examined the emergence of indigenous legal activism and juridical responses to it in the late twentieth century in three settler states, Australia, Canada and Aotearoa/New Zealand.

Ray Kerkhove is a Visiting Fellow at Griffith University. He works on reconstructing Indigenous material culture and historical landscapes. He co-founded ICP (Interactive Community Planning) Aust Inc., which won the Queensland Governor’s Gold Award for services to local heritage. He has written several works, most recently Aboriginal Campsites of Greater Brisbane (2015), which reconstructs the locations and histories of post-contact Aboriginal camps in and near Brisbane.

Harold Koch is a linguist attached to the School of Literature, Languages and Linguistics, College of Arts and Social Sciences, The Australian National University. His primary research interests have been Australian languages and historical linguistics. He had co-edited (with Claire Bowern) Australian Languages: Classification and the Comparative Method (2004); (with Luise Hercus) Aboriginal Placenames: Naming and Re-naming the Australian Landscape (2009); (with Rachel Nordlinger) The Languages and Linguistics of Australia: A Comprehensive Guide (2014); and (with Peter K. Austin and Jane Simpson) Language, Land and Song: Studies in Honour of Luise Hercus (2018).

Tim Rowse is a former Professorial Fellow in the School of Humanities and Communication Arts and is Emeritus Professor in the Institute for Culture and Society and an Editorial Fellow of the National Centre for Biography, at The Australian National University. He continues to work on Australian colonial history in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.

Lynette Russell is Professor of Indigenous Studies (History) at the Monash Indigenous Studies Centre, Monash University. Her work is deeply interdisciplinary and collaborative, and her research outputs are focused on showing the dynamism of Aboriginal responses to colonialism, their agency and subjectivity. She is Deputy Director of the Australian Research Council’s Centre of Excellence for Australian Biodiversity and Heritage (CABAH).

Gaye Sculthorpe has been Head of the Oceania Section in the Department of Africa, Oceania and the Americas at the British Museum since 2013. Prior to this, she worked for nine years as a Member of the National Native Title Tribunal in Australia. As a staff member of Museums Victoria for many years, she helped develop the opening exhibitions for Bunjilaka, the Aboriginal Centre at Melbourne Museum in 2000. Her current work in the United Kingdom includes research on British collections for two ARC Linkage Projects: ‘The Relational Museum and its Objects’ and ‘Collecting the West: How Collections Create Western Australia’. Gaye curated the exhibition ‘Indigenous Australia: Enduring civilisation’ at the British Museum in 2015.

Peter Sutton is an author, anthropologist and linguist who has lived and worked with Australian Aboriginal people since 1969. He is a specialist in Aboriginal land claims, languages and art. He has written or edited 16 books, the most recent being The Politics of Suffering: Indigenous Australia and the End of the Liberal Consensus (2009) and Iridescence: The Play of Colours (2015, with Michael Snow).

Elicia Taylor is a PhD candidate in History in the School of Humanities and Social Science at the University of Newcastle. She is the author of an article on Aboriginal child removal (Journal of Australian Indigenous Issues, 2015).

Previous Next