Previous Next

In from the Cold


This publication is the result of a close collaboration between the Australian War Memorial (AWM), and the Strategic and Defence Studies Centre (SDSC) within the Coral Bell School of Asia Pacific Affairs as part of the College of Asia and the Pacific at The Australian National University (ANU). In from the Cold: Reflections on Australia’s Korean War is based largely on the papers presented at the ‘Korea: In from the cold’, international military history conference that took place between 6 and 7 October 2011 at the AWM. We would like to thank Dr Peter Pedersen, whose singular vision in bringing together an international cast of veterans and academics delivered a conference that was truly unique.

The success of a book like this hinges on the quality of its contributors. We would like to sincerely thank the Australian and international presenters whose papers covered the Korean War from both sides of the wire and viewed the war from the land, air and sea: Professor Robert O’Neill AO, Professor Allan Millett, Professor Xiaobing Li, Cameron Forbes, Dr Jongnam Na, Dr Richard P. Hallion, Commodore Jack McCaffrie RAN (retd), Rowan Callick, Professor David Horner, Brigadier Colin Kahn DSO AO, Dr Bob Breen, Sir William Purves CBE DSO GBM, Nigel Steel, Brigadier Jim Shelton DSO MC, Lieutenant Colonel Maurie Pears MC, Lieutenant Colonel Alf Argent, Dr Rebecca Fleming and Dr Peter Edwards. The book is a reflection of the diverse gathering of veterans, scholars and journalists whose perspectives have been at all times informative and engaging.

We would like to sincerely thank all the staff at the AWM and ANU College of Asia and the Pacific who assisted and contributed to the book for their support. In particular, we would like to thank the wonderfully talented Kay Dancey and Jenny Sheehan at CartoGIS services at the ANU College of Asia and the Pacific for their efforts in creating the maps. The publication has also benefited greatly from the extensive work done by the Military History section at the AWM. In particular, we would like to acknowledge Duncan Beard, Emma Campbell, Ashley Ekins, Lachlan Grant, Meleah Hampton, Karl James, Aaron Pegram, Thomas Rogers, David Sutton and Christina Zizzis. Andrew McDonald also cannot be thanked enough for his work transcribing, editing and liaising with authors and for his unfailing support and advice throughout. We also acknowledge the extensive assistance of Ron Schroer throughout the publication process. Special thanks are also due to our copy-editor, Cathryn Game. The Military History Section would also like to acknowledge Steve and Ruth Lambert, and thank them for their ongoing support of the AWM.

The book draws on the seminal research and findings of the Australian official historian of the Korean War Professor Robert O’Neill, and we thank him for his ongoing support and enthusiasm for the project. In addition, this book would not have been possible without the generous support and publishing guidance from Emily Tinker, Dr Greg Raymond and the publishing team at ANU Press.

We would like to acknowledge and thank our families for their ongoing support, without which this book would not have happened.

John Blaxland

Michael Kelly

Liam Brewin Higgins

Previous Next