Previous Next

Communicating Science


We gratefully acknowledge the assistance and support of the following groups and individuals. Without their support, this book would not have been possible.

Professor Joan Leach and the Centre for Public Awareness of Science, for support and special assistance in bringing the book to fruition.

The members of the Editorial Board who guided the book through its stages: Dr Peter Broks, Professor Joan Leach, Professor Bruce V. Lewenstein, Dr Luisa Massarani, Dr Michelle Riedlinger and Professor Bernard Schiele.

The Network for the Public Communication of Science and Technology (PCST), which allowed us to test concepts, recruit authors and launch the book to the international community of science communication researchers and practitioners.

The 108 authors who wrote the 40 chapters. They were willing, responsive and cheerful in drafting, revising and re-drafting their chapters.

Bernard Schiele for his exhaustive work in compiling and analysing the data from the timelines.

Emily Tinker of ANU Press for her patience and expertise in shepherding the manuscript through the production process, and the other staff members at ANU Press who worked hard to bring the manuscript into its final form, particularly Teresa Prowse and Elouise Ball.

Ranjan Chaudhuri, for his assistance in editing the text.

Toss Gascoigne

Chief Editor

Previous Next